Peace and positivity

I’ve been keeping up with my goals so far and the results have been pretty astounding.  This morning I realized I felt happy.  Happy for no reason.  It may sound simplistic but it’s something I struggle with and it tends to come and go in waves.  I fell into a serious rut near the end of 2016, back on track with destructive behaviors.  Having learned from the past instances of such downward spirals, I knew I needed to check my routine before I let it totally take hold.

My time away in Strandhill was refreshing, almost liking hitting the reset button.  I spent time alone and got back in touch with my thoughts.  Sometimes I feel like I’m flailing through life and in hectic environments, it’s hard to get a foothold.  When I got back to Dublin and floated through into the new year, I was determined to reevaluate how I was going about things.  It’s easy to neglect yourself when you get caught up in the noise of daily life.  Focusing on what is most beneficial to your existence will help you realign your path.

I’ve been focusing on eating healthier, going to the gym, and meditating.  Going vegetarian has been an overwhelmingly positive experience thus far.  Maybe it’s because I feel my conscience is clear, or simply that I’m eating more fruits and vegetables and am feeling better overall.  Likely it is a combination of the two.  I’ve made it to then gym everyday since Saturday, which may not seem all that impressive, but it is the most consistent thing I’ve done in a long time.  Along with my commitment to physical fitness, I’ve been doing guided meditation each morning to improve my mental fitness.  It has been helping me to let go of things that would normally make me angry and makes me feel calmer as I venture out into the day.  While all of these things will take practice and discipline, I feel that the benefits I’ve already experienced are enough to keep my attention.

I’ve noticed through social media and conversations with friends that many people are feeling hopeless.  Given the current political, social, and economic situation of the U.S. and larger world, I’m not surprised.  It’s easy to get bogged down by all of the negativity and sadness in the world.  Yes, this planet can be an ugly, unkind place, but there is a lot of beauty in it, as well.  By starting to focus on finding your own peace and inner happiness, you can project that outward as you work to make a positive change around you.  No kind act is too small and if you touch even one person, you’ve made a difference.

Finding hope can be simple if you look in the right places.

About Andrea Ella

Change junkie, adventure seeker, avid couchsurfer. Let's get weird.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peace and positivity

  1. Chris says:

    I just got 1k 22LR rounds for 55 bucks. Life is pretty sweet

  2. Chris BT says:

    My sister in law’s neibghbor’s hamster made $9,473 working from home

    In all seriousness Andrea … you’ve got a gift of inspiring 🙂

Leave a Reply

