Wheels up

Spent a very leisurely day around town; lunch at my favorite falafel place then some trusty retail therapy.  Wanted to get a new outfit or two for my trip to Madrid tomorrow.  My flight is at an inconvenient 6 am, but going this route saved me a good bit of money.  The price of air travel here never ceases to amaze me; my round trip flight from Dublin to Madrid cost a mere 67 EUR (72 USD).  There’s a bus stop near my house which I’ll be catching at 3 am, then it’s off for 6 days in the land of tapas y vino.  My good buddy Rob is putting me up and I have a few other people to see.  I’m generally just looking forward to getting away from Dublin and unwinding on an outdoor terraza somewhere with a book and a beverage.  I’m starting to forget what it’s like to live in a place where it doesn’t rain all the time.

Rob and I have some hiking planned so hopefully the weather holds up.  I didn’t take advantage of the plethora of outdoor activities available while I lived there and I regret it.  I’ve managed to see a good bit of Ireland in the 8 months I’ve been here.  I do have to say though, during my time in Spain, teaching really took it out of me.  I didn’t do much of anything on the weekends.  Luckily, the tickets are so cheap that I can go back to make up for lost time.

Not too much planned for the rest of the evening.  Popped into Idlewild for a glass of wine as I write this then am heading home to finish packing, paint my nails, and hopefully turn in early so getting up at 2 am doesn’t sting so badly.

This time tomorrow I’ll be living that Madrileña life.  Hasta luego, ya’ll.

About Andrea Ella

Change junkie, adventure seeker, avid couchsurfer. Let's get weird.
This entry was posted in Solo Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

