Homeward bound

I leave for the States on Wednesday and will make my rounds with friends and family for three weeks, give or take.  If all works out as planned I will return with Louie, my poodle x schnauzer mix at the end of May.  A separate post is necessary for all those arrangements; the madness of importing a pet to Ireland is never-ending, and there has been a surprising lack of information on how best to do it.  But, like I said, that’s for another day.

We had our last class on Thursday this past week.  Being the total slacker that I am, I didn’t go and went to the gym instead.  I met up with my friend Kate in town before our writing class and tossed back a quick Guinness before trekking over to Coppinger Row.  The excerpt of one of my short stories was among those critiqued and I got some really positive feedback, so I’m looking to do some small revisions and post it here in the near future.

At 8:45, I headed to Oolong to meet my date, a tall,  handsome, bearded redhead (he prefers African Sunset) waiting for me outside.  We talked nonstop until we got kicked out 10 minutes after the actual closing time.  I saw him again yesterday and after another evening of laughs and chats about mutual interests, he kissed me as we parted ways on the walk home.  I didn’t stop smiling until I fell asleep.

But I have a lot to smile about.  I’m 3 days away from seeing my dearest friends and family, new babies, old neighborhood haunts.  I’m nearly done with my MPH.  I start a job in June that will not only teach me new things, but is the ticket to staying in this beautiful country for another year.  Sure, the past few months have been rocky but things get better with time and in the grand scheme of it all, I’m not doing too bad.

When I get back, I’ll be juggling finishing my dissertation, managing a daily routine with a dog again, a new job, and finding an apartment (hopefully a studio) closer to the city center.  I foresee an exciting summer with walks along the canal with Louie and enjoying being back in the working world, all with the backdrop of a life abroad.

About Andrea Ella

Change junkie, adventure seeker, avid couchsurfer. Let's get weird.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homeward bound

  1. Jolene Baxter says:

    Awesome! Your positive outlook is contagious! Safe travels for you and Louie and welcome home.

Leave a Reply

